Country Living Spooky & Bright: 101 Halloween Ideas Book Review and Giveaway

by leanneja on September 7, 2013 · 40 comments

in Crafts,Decorating,Giveaways,Halloween,Recipes,Reviews

spooky and bright

Halloween is my favorite holiday to decorate for. Maybe it’s the awesome pumpkins or that black and white is my favorite color combo. Or maybe it’s that there are so many options from fun and whimsical to dark and spooky. I love looking through magazines or books for new ideas. Country Living has come out with a new book that I am so excited about. It’s full of fresh new ideas on how to decorate pumpkins, to decorating your home, to yummy recipes.

Here are some of my favorite ideas from the book to help you celebrate Halloween.

spooky and bright pumpkins

spooky and bright decor

spooky and bright treats

There are even helpful step by step instructions and templates in the back of the book.

spooky and bright book 10

How awesome is that? I want to start crafting right now! I love Country Living magazine and this book is all my favorite Halloween decorating and recipe ideas in one place.

I’m excited to be able to offer one of you a Country Living Spooky & Bright 101 Halloween Ideas book. Just fill out the Rafflecopter widget below to be entered to win. Do one or all, for even more chances to win. Good Luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Be Sociable, Share!
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • email

{ 40 comments… read them below or add one }

Catherine September 7, 2013 at 5:29 am

I remember around 8 years old when I went as the Wicked Witch. It rained all night, my makeup ran everywhere, my green face itched SO bad … and it was the BEST Halloween ever in my mind because my sister & I stayed out later than ever before and got so much candy. :)

muriel September 7, 2013 at 5:41 am

My friend had a halloween party. very fun.

Donna Ingalls September 7, 2013 at 7:21 am

When I was in 2nd grade I won a contest for best costume. My mom had made my princess costume and I just loved it! I still remember that costume so many years ago.

Kathy Jacobson September 7, 2013 at 8:41 am

So Cute! Would love some new ideas!

Amy September 7, 2013 at 10:01 am

This book looks like its full of new designs for me and my son to get our Halloween on

Marianne L September 7, 2013 at 11:32 am

I would love to win this book!

Marlene September 7, 2013 at 2:02 pm

My fondest memories of Halloween are making costumes for my little girl and then taking her trick or treating. It is such a magical time for children. This book looks amazing.

Asia September 7, 2013 at 2:10 pm

While not my fondest memory, the Halloween of 6th grade, I dressed as a clown and went to trick or treat with friends. Soon as I stepped off my driveway a car hit ran over my toes and knocked my knee cap to the right. :(

PAMELA September 7, 2013 at 2:43 pm

My favorite Halloween memory is eating dinner right before trick-or-treating, watching with excitement all the kids come out of their houses and trying to eat as fast as I could in order to join them.

Jessica w September 7, 2013 at 2:45 pm

trick or treating with the family

Labbie1 September 7, 2013 at 3:15 pm

I loved carving pumpkins…fun!
Labbie1 recently posted..National Preparedness Month…

Brenda B. September 7, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Trick or treating in our neighborhood.. We always made our own costumes up.. My little girl friend/neighbor and I went out together.. Then sorted thru our candy when we got home!

Jackie September 7, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Love Halloween now that my daughter is old enough to enjoy it. So much fun to decorate and craft!

Patti September 7, 2013 at 4:12 pm

When I was young our costumes consisted of printed fabric and cheap plastic masks! When I became a mom I learned to sew in order to make something besides those awful costumes!

CFS September 7, 2013 at 4:15 pm

My favorite Halloween memory was in 1956. I was four, my brother Charlie was three. We both wore Western outfits. Mine had a brown skirt with fringe, his was brown pants with fringe. We had matching shirts, cowboy hats, and holsters with cap guns.

I wanted to wear that outfit every day.

kesha September 7, 2013 at 5:01 pm

My favorite childhood memory of Halloween as a child was going to a friends house and dressing up as a cowgirl! We had a hayride, toasted marshmallows and ate tons of candy!

Kathie September 7, 2013 at 5:28 pm

This book looks great! Thanks for the opportunity to really update my Halloween decor!

Kelli September 7, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Carving pumpkins with my parents and sisters! Some of us liked the carving, others liked the cleaning out, so we swapped jobs. fun!
Kelli recently posted..Sloppy Joes … Slop, Sloppy Joes.

Jean Marmion September 7, 2013 at 5:58 pm

My favorite memory is that my dear mom made my first daughter the CUTEST Hershey Kiss costume and fortunately it was made so well, that my next two daughters wore it as well. We have a picture of each one in the same costume, each looking adorable. Thanks for the opportunity to win the book. It looks awesome! Hugs~ j

Judith I September 7, 2013 at 6:39 pm

My favorite memory is my mom making my costumes.

michelle b September 7, 2013 at 8:33 pm

I remember my parents having a haunted house at our house. I freaked out because my dolls were in a cauldron filled with dry ice. I thought they we being cooked. I love halloween too.

Elana September 7, 2013 at 8:45 pm

We lived on a cul de sac in the country and when we all were teenagers there were no more little kids left on our street. We dressed up until our late teens and went trick-or-treating as a big group. We knew everyone on the block and they all thought it was fun since there were no little kids on the street.

Christine J September 8, 2013 at 12:28 am

My favorite memory is the year my brothers and I went as super heros. I was Wonder Woman and my littlest brother was Diaper Man.

Pat F. September 8, 2013 at 1:35 am

Leanne,
This book looks like it has many wonderful decorating ideas for this fun holiday! Thanks for the opportunity to win!

Pat F.
Las Vegas

Elizabeth September 8, 2013 at 5:21 am

My favorite childhood Halloween memory was the year it snowed a foot, and having to wear snow pants under my costume :)

Maricela September 8, 2013 at 7:39 am

Counting and organizing my candy. Getting rid of the ones I didn’t like and giving them to my brother.

Pat September 8, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Trick or treating with my friends. We headed out. With pillowcases and just roamed the neighborhood till the lights went out.

Rebecca Brewer September 9, 2013 at 12:46 am

I swear every year it snowed on Halloween. I may not be remembering correctly, but… Halloween costumes were always covered by a big poofy jacket and the cap, tiara , witch hat were always replaced or covered by a stocking cap or the hood to the poofy jacket.

barbara n September 9, 2013 at 4:07 am

My favorite childhood memory of Halloween is bobbing for apples and nearly drowning in the barrel

Gilly Crews September 9, 2013 at 5:07 am

My favorite memory of halloween is all the setting up of the scary cemetery…a tradition my husband I still do. I remember how scared I was…even though I helped put it all together. lol

Abigail September 9, 2013 at 6:07 am

My favorite childhood memories are of the extra cold Halloweens where you had to wear long johns under your costume but ended up running around so much that you were a sweaty mess by the end of the night!

Emily DeBry September 9, 2013 at 7:44 am

I loved dressing up even though we wore the same costumes a lot it was still so fun to dress up. i also love how cool and crisp it always was for trick or treating. When I was in elementary we did a big parade down the street to the old folks home. It was always a blast and fun to see how happy the seniors were to see us dressed up!
Emily DeBry recently posted..What’s for dinner tonight? BBQ Meatloaf

Melissa September 9, 2013 at 7:52 am

When my uncles dressed me up as a member of the band kiss…They were other members. Super fun.
Melissa recently posted..Family Forward Retreat, Short recap!

marissa | Rae Gun Ramblings September 9, 2013 at 8:33 am

Okay it’s set I want to decorate for Halloween this weekend. It’s my absolute favorite holiday

marissa | Rae Gun Ramblings September 9, 2013 at 8:37 am

oh I forgot to mention my favorite childhood memory was the house where we got whole candied apples one year it was awesome. Totally would never fly these days but it was so cool (even if my mom chopped it up before we ate them)

Kaysi @ Keeping it Simple September 9, 2013 at 9:53 am

Trick or treating around our neighborhood, in a huge coat over my costume and going through a foot of snow. Good old Wyoming :)

Aly September 9, 2013 at 10:06 am

This book looks adorable. My fave childhood memory was being a baby for halloween and my mom let me carry around a baby bottle full of soda while we trick or treated. I didn’t get soda much :)
Aly recently posted..I Love Fall Free Printable

Natasha September 9, 2013 at 12:35 pm

I remember my dad going all out and just covering the house in decorations – it was always so fun!

Stephanie Grant September 12, 2013 at 11:56 am

Going to the Halloween festival at the school and then spending the majority of the night out trick-or-treating is my favorite memory of Halloween from my childhood!

Dawn Monroe September 13, 2013 at 10:05 am

I remember my parents and some neighbors did their own haunted forest and took us through on a hay ride. So much fun!

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

WP-SpamFree by Pole Position Marketing

Previous post:

Next post: